Things you should know about Inner Line Permit

Mar 16, 2023

Things you should know about Inner Line Permit

You must know that travelling outside India needs a permit in the form of a Visa. But did you know that some places within India also need a special permit called an inner line permit for you to enter? Read on to learn more about this permit if you’re planning to visit these places.

What is Inner Line Permit?

It’s an official travel document issued by the state government or government of India to allow entry into a protected area for a limited period of time. These areas are usually the ones that lie between international boundaries.

States which require a permit

Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Manipur, Nagaland and Lakshadweep.

How many days of stay are permitted for outsiders?

A minimum of 15 days of stay is permitted, which can be extended to one or six months depending upon the state and the applicant’s need, for instance, employment in the state.

Where can I get the permit?

Arunachal Pradesh – Online or at the interstate border

Mizoram- Lengpui airport, Aizawl or Mizoram house office at Shillong, Guwahati, Silchar, Kolkata and New Delhi

Manipur- Online

Nagaland- Online or Nagaland house office (Delhi, Guwahati, Shillong, Kolkata)

Lakshadweep- Online or Lakshadweep administration office, Kochi

Fees required

Rs 50 – 10,000 (depending upon the duration of stay)

Documents required

You will need a photo ID card (ex- Aadhaar Card) and a passport-size photo to apply for the permit offline or online. People moving to these states must show employment proof in support of their documents. However, it is always advised to check the official website of the concerned state before travelling.

People travelling to Buma La Pass cannot get the permit online. You need to visit the deputy commissioner’s office in Tawang to apply for the pass offline and then the Indian Army containment of Tawang to get it stamped. However, given the sensory pleasure, this place offers, it’s worth the hustle.

You Might Also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *